Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HELP! GSR SWAP!

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2012, 10:10 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 HELP! GSR SWAP!

I am new to all this forum stuff so forgive me for asking something that I can imagine has been asked a million times. However, I can't find the info for my exact application. And what I do find is jumbled up and I can't make sense of it.
I have a 5 speed 95 civic dx sedan. I am doing my first swap soon. I already pulled the stock d15b7. That whole process was easy as pie. I can actually picture in my head where every wire, hose, and bracket goes right now. My problem is I don't know what I need for a gsr swap. The guy I am going to buy the motor from said "it just drops right in". I doubt that.
What I need is a list of EVERY single thing I will need.
I already know obd1 gsr with 5 speed tranny and obd1 gsr ecu.
Will I need new motor mounts? How about axles? I would think so. But idk.
And will it really drop right in and all the d series wires and hoses will just plug right in to the gsr? And how about the ecu? Will the gsr ecu plug right in where the d series ecu was? It all seems too simple. Please someone help me. I don't want to waste money or time. Thanks all.
Old 04-19-2012, 10:35 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: HELP! GSR SWAP!

Not sure of "everything" buy you need the ECU, Engine wire harness, mounts, axles, tranny.
Old 04-19-2012, 10:46 PM
Honda-Tech Member

The engine wire harness should come with the gsr right? The ones that are connected to the motor and plug into the car at the top left by the fuse box and top right by the brake master cylinder? I hope you're not talking about the ones that are connected to the car itself that go through the firewall.