Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

G23 V-tec Clarification

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2010, 06:11 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 G23 V-tec Clarification

Ok so i posted and got no response probably due to the title. Well im not new to H-T but i dont post much. Im also new to the H/F series so bare with me.

So i have a F23a1 and a H22 head, and obviously i plan on doing a G23 vtec.

So here is my question, i dont wanna use K20 pistons since they rotate CW in the motor, but in order to use the H22a pistons do i need to mill out the CC on the head?

I saw that on Pirates (not sure of his full user name and to lazy to look it up) but when he did the f22/f23 and h23 head he had to mill the head.

Also ive thought about using h23 pistons just to lower the compression a little more to make the motor a little more reliable.

if anyone knows or has any advice about this combo id appreciate it.
Old 10-11-2010, 08:41 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: G23 V-tec Clarification

use the stock f-series pistons that come with the f23a1(try to find some forged aftermarket ones that have the std. comp ratio) when using the h22a head you will not have to mill the head and they will give you a low 8.8:1 CP ratio great for turbo *wink*.
Old 10-11-2010, 08:55 AM
Honda-Tech Member

I've given that thought consideration since, i have a small garrett sitting in my parents garage, but im not looking for that much power. More or less looking for a build with all oem parts, mild build...but we shall see. Haven't been working on it much lately, been trying to get my ducks in a row.

My thoughts were:
F23a1 bored to 87mm
Possibly Type S Cams
H23 pistons
Been looking into the k20 adapter Intake manifold adapter since i can get the manifold cheap, and for hood clearance.