Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Doing VTEC ecu conversion. Need some info please.

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2003, 09:32 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Doing VTEC ecu conversion. Need some info please.

I'm swapping out my rigged PM6 ecu for a proper PR3 VTEC ecu. I think I have the basics down, but I still have a few questions because I want to get it right the first time. This is my first time re-wiring a car so any assistance would be useful and appreciated.

From my understanding I need to run 4 new wires: 2nd o2 sensor, knock sensor, vtec pressure, and vtec soleniod. From what it looks like some one has already added 3 of the needed wires, as they have bullet connectors on the ends. The one I don't get is the 2nd o2 sensor wire because in my cars harness it appears to be being used.

The reason I'm confused is because on the pr3 plug harness that came with the ecu the 2nd o2 sensor is a orange wire. On the harness in the car that wire is white. What do I do with this wire? What is its purpose on the pm6 ecu? Do I just cut it and run my own wire to the 2nd o2 sensor? Also, where do I put the 2nd o2 sensor when I add it? I've searched up and down for this info but haven't had any luck.

Also, I need to know where the vtec pressure switch is and which wire(if its not a 1 wire sensor) goes to the ecu and which is ground.

Please for the love of god help me out. Just a hint. post a reference site. I don't care. My brain is fried from searching on this subject for the past 3 days. I really hate to ask for help but I this case I'm kinda up **** creek if I don't.

Old 10-17-2003, 10:38 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Doing VTEC ecu conversion. Need some info please. (Hybridize)

Okay, I am assuming you are doing a first gen B16 swap is this correct?