Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

B20b over heating problems

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2014, 02:14 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default B20b over heating problems

I have 91 civic with swapped b20b. I have been driving it for last 2-3 months no problems with over heating. Today was a extra hot today as the weather is starting to get hot, and I noticed my car started to over heat.

-Thermostat is brand new
-Water pump is brand new
-radiator fan is working and coming on
-Brand new full-race half rad with 10" mishi slim fan( no shroud)
-Coolant levels seem okay

What is happening is when I start to drive the car is starts to over heat it almost got all the way to the red line so I shut my car off. Waited for a while then turned it on again. After driving for a few minutes it started to over heat and fluctuate. I then turned my heat on full blast and it stayed at normal operating temp. When i turn my heat off it starts to rise after a minute or so.

I also was city driving 40-60 kms/h when this was happening. Then it cools off when I stop driving.

When I am idling though my temperature drops back to normal (with my heat off). What can I do to try and correct my problem.
Old 05-25-2014, 04:03 PM
The Grumpiest

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Re: B20b over heating problems

Put the stock fan back on or get a shroud. It makes all the difference. Did you bleed the system of air?

Continue to overheat that engine and you'll be looking at buying another one to replace it. That is, if you haven't already damaged it.
Old 05-25-2014, 05:20 PM
Honda-Tech Member