Honda Prelude All Model Preludes

The Official Bogging and Hesitation Thread

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2004, 04:06 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The Official Bogging and Hesitation Thread

Problem since solved by an embarrassingly simple solution

Since i'm a newb I'm not sure if I'm allowed to make official threads (: but I've seen enough of these over the last little while that I thought it would be great to have a pool of everyones information on what can cause this - more importantly - what can fix it (:

First of all, I have searched the forums for possible solutions, but it seems like a tangled web - and no one in particular has come back to say "the problem is solved" except for one guy who switched to a p28 w/ hondata or something.

This thread will most likely be hi-jacked by people who are obviously having different situations and setups - so I think it's only wise to be completely clear about the state of your car, equipment, and whether or not your possibly in limp etc.

Now for my problem

My car is a 92 4ws SI, with a (recently swapped) jdm h22a with the p13 ecu. OBD1 and It's basically bone stock.
the problem I am experiencing is bogging and hesitation (obviously) heh, in the 2 - 3.2 grand rpm range. The interesting part of the problem is that it does not occur within the first few minutes of driving after a fresh (from cold we're talking) startup. My vehicle is not currently throwing any codes (and the check engine light *does* work). Even when the car is bogging - once it gets above the 3.5g range throttle response is fine and vtec kicks in like normal at around 5g - so i'm NOT in limp mode. It is weird at cruise in the 2 - 3.2g range because (as i've read someone else describe it) it feels like a weird tugging that you feel in the back of your seat - even though you are holding the throttle at a constant setting.

the solutions i've come across are as follows, and the reasons i've eliminated some of them.