Notices
Honda Prelude All Model Preludes

Cam lobe worn and rocker worn bad.. JUN cams.. any clues? (Exhaust mid #1)

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2006, 07:41 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Cam lobe worn and rocker worn bad.. JUN cams.. any clues? (Exhaust mid #1)

Hi smart Prelude folks!

This is Corey's old car (which some of you know better than I do).

The big (mid) lobe on the exhaust lobe (#1) has a notch worn in it, and the rocker is worn bad! This is with supertech valve springs and retainers, revving to ~8300 RPM.

The others (#2, #3, #4 and all the intake ones) look OK, with some minor discoloration here and there but nothing I can feel with my fingernail.

So, like, WTF? Should I blame the cam/valvesprings combination, or blame it on oiling?

The car overheated last time I ran it, but I don't think this is related. Oil still looks in OK shape. (No, I haven't finished pulling the head, it's my first time and I'm going it alone)

Sorry, pic's aren't perfect, but I think they show it well enough.

Old 09-23-2006, 08:37 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Cam lobe worn and rocker worn bad.. JUN cams.. any clues? (Chris F)

I had the same probs with the exhaust cam of my crower 3's. Dont know the how or why but yeah that sucks and those things arent cheap either.
Old 09-23-2006, 08:38 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

wow....are you sure the valve lash was adjusted right??
Old 09-23-2006, 08:50 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: (bb4ever)

valve lash wouldnt have have caused that issue.. the exhaust side is the last part of the head to get oil, if you had low oil pressure or something of the sort that would cause it.

i had an issue like that before it freaked me out, intake side was Perfect the exhaust side all 4 cyls were like that.. it totally sucked but after speaking with tom at port flow he said that lack of oil would cause that more than anything else.