Notices
Honda Motorcycles Honda Powersports: riding, maintenance, gear, and safety.

new to riding?

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2008, 09:32 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new to riding?

I started riding just over 4 years ago. At the time, I knew nothing about bikes other than the fact that they were fast and from what i had herd, "fun!" I made many phone calls and spent countless hours sifting through threads asking the regular noob questions. I was turned away several times after asking about sport bikes and stating that i hadn't taken the MSF course. Finally i settled for a 2003 KLX-400. Just after taking the MSF course.

I was 19 years old & didnt really want to take the class at all. I ended up using it as an excuse to my parents to make them worry less. To my friends, i said i was taking it to lower insurance costs (which wasn't far from the truth) That being said, i have yet to see an insurance company that offers a discount for MSF riders. (please let me know if you know of a company) After having only 3 months under my belt i had someone offer to trade me for a 99' 900RR with polished rims and a D&D pipe.

I couldn't resist! the bike was PERFECT! I was living in Big Bear, CA at the time which couldn't have been a better place. Over the next few months i got into "stunting" and going to bike nights a Zorba's in Riverside. I burnt my clutch (a few times) i practically destroyed my transmission all about the time i became a member at the motorcycle forum on HT. Aside from the stupidness of my 100+ mph wheelies, and flamingos down Big Bear blvd, the MSF course SAVED MY LIFE on numerous occasions and continues to do so to this day. I dont ride like i use to, ive found passing someone in a corner with my knee down is more fun then a wheelie will ever be.
Old 09-18-2008, 10:59 AM

Default Re: new to riding? (85)