Notices
Honda Motorcycles Honda Powersports: riding, maintenance, gear, and safety.

my new cbr F4I having problems...need some help

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2004, 05:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default my new cbr F4I having problems...need some help

Im kinda new to this but I'll try anything before I take my bike to the dealer, I just got a 02 cbr f4i with 600 miles. I rode for about 2 weeks with no problems, in the last couple days things have changed, the bike cuts off on its own, while im riding, if Im giving it steady throttle at the same rpm, it will jerk back and forth a little, you cant see it, just feel it, its not steady and smooth. then theres times when it really jerks and bangs my jewels!! then it cuts off, AND I GET THIS F1 LIGHT??? dont know what it means?? other times, I will give it a full tank of gas, and five minutes later the display shows that im usung my reserve tank, when I know I just filled up, I think thats when these strange things start happening, some Im thinking the problem has something to do with fuel, on the other hand, my battery seems very week, the headlights dim really bad when its just batts on. also when I turn the power on everything doesnt come on at once, first the backlight comes on, then the rpm needle moves and then rpm digits scroll up and back on to zero, then the rest of the warning lights come on. none of this happens at the same time and it should. when I go to start the bike, all the lights almost completely turn off and it takes to long to start, so Im also thinking I could have a battery problem, I dont know, does anyone have a suggestion?? oh yea, I dont know if this has anything to do with it, but the day before this started I was practicing wheelies for the first time on this bike, maybe something got loose on my landing's?? I dont know, the next day I took the bike for the longest ride I had takin it, while I was doing about 80 or 90 on the highway, thats when I got my first jerking motion and th