Notices
Honda Fit Honda Fit (Jazz)

Rail Dust on my first ever Honda and brand new off the lot

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2017, 03:21 PM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Has anyone heard of people having bought a Honda, or any car, with it having rail dust in the paint?

I bought a 2016 Honda Fit, in white, and a year later (now) I noticed little red/golden/yellow spots all over. I took it to the dealership and they told me it's rail dust that lands on the vehicle during transportation. They said they will lead to rust. If I had known of this, I wouldn't have bought the vehicle. And I'm sure they wouldn't have wanted that... I had just got rid of my first car that I had been driving since I was 18-years-old, for 12 years, and I was so excited to get my first brand new car (my previous one was used.) I had deterred between buying a semi-used car that would cost me around 10k less or brand new. My old car had put me through so many mechanic visits that I just wanted something that I knew hadn't been mistreated (skipped oil changes, driven rough, ect.

I have a friend who's wife is a lawyer and is going to try and help me figure out what I can do. Until then, I thought I would come here to see if anyone has had this experience or know of others who have.

Am I worrying too much about my new car rusting out? Does this actually happen? Could I ask my dealership to give it a clay polishing a couple of times a year?