Sort of Noob here. Send help!

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2016, 06:45 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sort of Noob here. Send help!

Hello everyone!

I am a new member on honda-tech!

First I want to say thank you to everyone on here (and other honda sites as well) as you guys have helped me learn quite a bit about hondas over the years. I have helped on about four different swaps over the years and the information I have found made all of that possible! By no means am I anywhere near knowing everything there is to know about hondas (or cars in general), but I know my way (mostly) around an engine bay.

Anywho I am in a bit of a bind and need some advice.

Last year I bought a running 1988 CRX HF from a friend of mine for about $500. It was blowing a bit of smoke when starting from a stop. It still got up and had as much go to it as you could expect an HF to have. My friend doesn't know much about cars passed filling up tires with air and changing his own oil. I drove the car home and cleaned it. Threw it in the shed for about 9 months while I gathered what I needed to do a swap. Originally I was going to do a Z6 swap. But after buying a bare Z6 block for about $50, I found a D16A6 for about $200 and snatched that up. It came with the harness, distributor, intake, exhaust, and pretty much everything else except the trans and alternator. I picked up a trans and just used the alternator from my HF. I changed most of the gaskets and put a new timing belt, water pump, tensioner and spring, and alternator belt (the car doesn't have AC) and put a new thermostat and O ring in.