Notices

Build Thread - 1990 Honda Civic STD

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2017, 05:32 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Build Thread - 1990 Honda Civic STD

Hello everyone!

I've decided to try and catalog the details of my build so strap in and get ready for lots of pictures!

Details about me:
Car: 1990 Honda Civic STD (First car/Bought when I was 15 on a Florida vacation)
Profession: Senior Mechanical Engineering student working various different internships (Mostly with Parker-Hannifin); I graduate Spring 2018
Ethnicity: Greek, Austrian, Ukrainian

I picked up my first Honda back in 2007 when I was a Sophomore in highschool on a Florida vacation for $1000 from a crippled mid-20 year old man. The poor thing had a brick thrown through the window and was sitting on these God-awful 22" chrome wheels...those were thrown in the trash then and there. I didn't even know how to drive stick yet so my father had to drive it all the way back to Ohio for me (Cringing face), that wasn't an easy drive for a car with no AC in the hot Florida Summer heat. In short, within a couple days of actually owning the car the D15B2 engine began running on 3 cylinders so I was in the market for another engine. Poor and without really any automotive knowledge my brother began to help me pick-out an engine with some more power and bolt-in capability. Enter the DOHC ZC. This engine was shipped over from Japan and was easily swapped into the EF over that Winter. I HIGHLY recommend that engine for anyone looking a good bang/buck ratio

Years later after driving the car for awhile I decided to sell that Honda to my brother in hopes of picking up a Mazda Rx-7. I ended up scooping a 2nd Gen FC3S Turbo II Rx-7 from a small town in Virgina, but that's a whole story of building that car in itself! Just check the picture I attach!

Onto the EF project now!