Honda CR-V & Element 2WD & 4WD Element & CR-V

I no longer have an oil dilution problem.

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2020, 12:36 PM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I no longer have an oil dilution problem.

I'm posting this to say theres a fix to this dilution prob, but may not be what you expect. I bought a used '17 CRV with low mileage early last year. I can say the car is great, and my wife loves it. She gets easily 34mpg, super happy. I change the oil religiously and do much/all my own maint. Shortly after the first oil change I noticed the oil increasing and discovered the oil dilution issue all over the interweb, all stating similar issues surrounding cold starts, fuel smell, oil increase, etc. I'm positive this car had a dilution prob cuz it was evident after each oil change. Spoke to several honda service depts who simply played STUPID. I admit I'm not a certified mech by trade but I'm a decent mech and knew it was basically 2 or 3 problems; excessive ring gap or misaligned ring gaps allowing fuel past when cold, excessive fuel pressure blowing past rings when cold, or a defective EGR emissions system. I was changing oil every 2500 miles and monitoring closely, surenuff it was diluting.

We've had the car a year now, and the dilution problem is COMPLETELY GONE. It lasted several months and then resolved after 2-3 long road trips (roughly 1000 mi round trip each). My theory, motors and parts need to break in, as with cylinders, the rings need to seat and mate with the cylinder walls. I'm confident those nice long drives at 75+ helped to break in the motor and seat the rings, fixing this problem. This dilution prob is not goin away with short drives, and cold starts. Given honda and others assemble with very, very, tight tolerances. Honda and other imports have a proven track record of 200-300,000 miles, it doesn't surprise me that a good break-in might be the fix.
Old 03-23-2020, 08:07 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts