Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

B18C Auto?

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2012, 05:09 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 B18C Auto?

Hey, I'm looking to upgrade the engine in my 98 ex coupe, it currently has a D16y7. I was thinking about getting a more powerful engine to rebuild and put in, I want to stay away from manual, my other civic is a manual and even though it's a blast to drive there are times when the stop and go traffic at 6am just gets annoying.

I was under the impression that B18Cs are only manual then while looking around I found one that said automatic, after googling for a while I couldn't find anything definite saying yes or no.

My question is, is there such thing as a auto b18c? If not, what's a reliable auto engine with similar performance to keep me happy?

I'm new to the whole forum scene, I'd hate for my first post to be a stupid question but this has me stumped.
Old 02-13-2012, 05:16 PM
Seagull Management

Received 24 Likes on 22 Posts
Default Re: B18C Auto?

JDM B18Cs found in the Si Vtec and SiR-G Integras could be had with an automatic, but they really don't swap into a '96 - '00 Civic. See this thread for more info -> https://honda-tech.com/forums/honda-civic-del-sol-1992-2000-1/honda-gsr-swap-getting-pita-2364737/

Basically if you want a B-series you'll have to swap it to a manual at the same time.
Old 02-13-2012, 06:01 PM
Honda-Tech Member

a b series swap with an automatic can be done. i've seen a few of them on different forums over the years. but the fact that you would have to basically hand fabricate all sorts of mounts etc. and how much of a pain in the *** the wiring would be, it's just not worth it. if you're wanting to stay automatic then just do an auto mini me swap. and before everyone starts bashing me for supporting automatics, **** off. i dont care what you have to say.
Old 02-13-2012, 06:15 PM
Master Detailer

Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts