Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Will virtually any honda engine (with in reason) mount in any del sol

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2013, 10:17 PM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 Will virtually any honda engine (with in reason) mount in any del sol

I am new here and dreaming of buying a a metallic green del sol with ameripol top. I'm not really picky on the year preferably a 95-97. I've been looking though all the engine types I'm new to imports and there are so many different engines it's crazy to me. I was wondering if i bought a 95 with high mileage and bought an engine with low miles but was made for a 97 -02 like a f20b with dohc (I realize that the engine obviously wasn't meant for a del sol) would it be able to fit after swapping the mounts and axles? Again I apologize I am new to this and am not a mechanic by no mean and probably shouldn't even be looking into this.
Old 10-25-2013, 10:26 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Will virtually any honda engine (with in reason) mount in any del sol

b series is easiest swap, h and k series not much worse. whats your usage gonna be and budget, boosted or n/a
never looked at the f series myself so cant say

B18c5 in my sol
Old 10-26-2013, 07:05 AM
Trial User

Default Re: Will virtually any honda engine (with in reason) mount in any del sol

i'm hohpefully going to be getting my cdl within the next month so it'll be my daily driver when I am home which'll be may 3 days a month. I want it to have some get up and go without sacraficing gas milage' What engine would you recomend
Old 10-26-2013, 07:10 AM
Trial User

i plan on boosting it a little bit, no turbo, I really don't have a set budget (i know i'll get people on here saying spend 20k but i'm ssaving) lets say 8k not including the price o the car
Old 10-26-2013, 08:42 AM
Honda-Tech Member