Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

What type of Engine can i legitly place in my 96 Civic HB DX

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2003, 01:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What type of Engine can i legitly place in my 96 Civic HB DX

Yeah..i'm a noob. I used the Search engine and couldn't find any related topics. I have no idea what to do with my engine. I've been told by others to stick a B18 in there. I'm told thats a GSR engine. I'm also told that it wouldn't pass smog cuz its DOHC, I want to put the best engine for this car, that's not overly expensive but has power to it. After i figure out what engine to put in i want to either Turbo or Supercharge it. I have a friend who's willing to swap it for me, he offered me a GSR JDM Engine with the Chip and all the stuff that goes with it. Since yall are the experts here. Could anyone lend me a hand

(I live in Hemet. if that helps you all understand the condition i'm in.if not , this town isn't know for Hondas. )
Old 10-07-2003, 01:26 PM

there are several engines you could put in it, but if you want to turbo it and not spend a lot of money i would get a b18b (LS motor) and then turbo it becuase you can run more boost and not built the engine. if you got a b18c then you'll have a better engine though......how much is that guy going to charge u for that complete swap though? by chip do u mean ECU (computer)?
Old 10-07-2003, 01:27 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: (EG UNIT)