Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Timing will not stay steady

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2016, 07:16 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Timing will not stay steady

I am new to the Honda world and need some help. I have a 1994 Honda Civic CX with the D15b8 motor and manual transmission. This vehicle is all stock with the exceptions of the Distributor, plugs, timing belt and MAP. I purchased this vehicle as a daily commuter for a 92 mile round trip commute from my house to work on a daily basis. Once purchased I had to replace transmission due to failing bearings. While I was waiting on the transmission I removed the head and cleaned up the valves, entire head, Intake manifold, throttle body, and everything between. I hand lapped the valves and checked for proper seal, I replaced all seals for the valves and guage the head to check for warpage. I used all new gaskets when putting this back together and checked all mil spacings. Everything was up to specs. Once the head was back on and tranny was installed, I replaced the distributor, plugs and other items that I listed above as well as corrected valve lash. I set timing according to specs and after 200 miles it was off time again. This vehicle has always ran rough and smoked a whitish grey smoke from the tail pipe as well as blowing a light spray of black carbon liquid stuff from muffler. I removed the timing belt and put crank where it was supposed to be and put cam where it was supposed to be and made sure distributor was pointing to number 1. I set tenting on the belt as stated in the forums and tech books. I looped the service plug and fired it up. The idle is highish, around 800-1100 with a rough idle and the timing is way off again. I turned it off, turned the crankshaft to where the tdc mark is supposed to be then checked position of the number one plug on distributor and cranked it back up to find it out of time again. When I say out of time I m