Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

time for a new radiator?

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2011, 01:59 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default time for a new radiator?

I found out today that i have a slow coolant leak. Its not as bad is it was a month ago when i replaced the radiator cap (was leakign about 4kish RPM) but in a month the coolant has gone from the max line to the min line. The engine doesnt smoke and other wise runs fine (i think, im not sure how the power is suppost to be, im new to hondas) I havnt done a compression test yet, picking up the gauge next payday... however, i have noticed this... sludge? around the top of the radiator:

Old 04-15-2011, 02:16 PM
The Grumpiest

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Re: time for a new radiator?

Oh yeah. The plastic top is starting to separate. It's been my experience that if you wait to fix this it will come back and bite you just as you were about to take care of it.
Old 04-15-2011, 02:19 PM
Honda-Tech Member

thats what i figrued. what would be a suggested replacement... I have been going with the, "as it breaks, upgrade"... and i am looking to boost down the road
Old 04-15-2011, 02:27 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I've got all aluminum radiators off ebay for about $110 shipped. That was about 1-2 years ago.
Old 04-15-2011, 06:40 PM
Honda-Tech Member

anyone else? i usually only use ebay as a last resort, but i do liek the idea of an all aluminum one, so this doesnt happen again
Old 04-15-2011, 06:45 PM
Honda-Tech Member

look for a good deal on a mishimoto aluminum radiator. i'm running an ebay radiator i got half a year ago...giving me a problems already....and the drain plug broke for it as well on first use..(f*%K ebay parts..)
Old 04-15-2011, 06:51 PM
Honda-Tech Member