Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Suspension help

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2009, 08:23 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suspension help

Hey guys, I need help deciding this. The shocks on my Civic are completely blown, so I bought some Tein S.Techs and was just planning on just buying new OEM shocks. After I talked to some friends, they all told me I would blow the new shocks because of the lowering springs and told me I needed aftermarket shocks.

Now before I ask you guys on what shocks to buy let me give you a little information since no one on Honda-Tech does that anymore. First of all, I am a poor university student so good coilovers are not an option as the 250$ for the Tein's was hard to come by. I do not want anything for hard-core performance just a little better handling. The roads here in Alberta are always terrible so something on the less bumpy side would be ideal. How are the Skunk2 shocks? I've heard of a lot of brands like, Koni, Eibach, KSport, etc. etc., but which brand is right for me? Thanks for the input. Also- My price range is 300-400.
Old 02-08-2009, 09:02 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Suspension help

The OEM shocks will not blow instantly once you put on the aftermarket springs, but it is not recommened. I know of a few people that have run aftermarket springs on their OEM struts for a while with no problems. I don't have personal experience with any of those struts, but I have a few friends running the Koni Yellows and they are very happy with them.
Old 02-09-2009, 02:34 PM
Honda-Tech Member

I know they will not blow right away, but I'm looking to get a few years out of them, if not the life of the car. How are the Koni Yellows for bumps? Anyone else have some input please?
Old 02-09-2009, 02:41 PM