Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

sohc ZC in 96 Civic

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2006, 07:56 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default sohc ZC in 96 Civic

Looking for some help guys, im kinda new to these newer hondas, I have only worked on 2nd and 4ths gens. My friend has a 96 Civic EX Sedan with the d16y8. Its getting kinda tired with 280k miles on it and the headgasket is leaking, overheats and the coolant looks bout like pure oil. So went to the local importers to see what they have. The have 2 3rd gen integra clips with sohc ZCs. Anybody know much about these, the ower says they are 96-00 integras so they should be OBD2 right?? How can I tell, what would i have to do to get one of these in his civic?? What kinda stuff do i need to look out for?? I looked at the ECU for one of the tegs and it was a small box bout half the size of my OBD0 ecus and said p76 on it if that helps. Thanks.
Old 06-03-2006, 08:40 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: sohc ZC in 96 Civic (liquidoblivion)

ttt, come on guys, nothing at all??
Old 06-03-2006, 09:05 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Location: chillin in that city called queen creek, but homes the atl

just get another d16y8 motor or its time for a b-series swap but that engine importer is trying to rip u off i have never seen a 89 and up integra come w/ a SOHC zc motor or any SOHC motor only civic and if the motor is motor is a 96 and newer obd2 SOHC zc then its a vtec w/ the 2 stage vtec i think not really sure
Old 06-03-2006, 09:11 PM

Default Re: sohc ZC in 96 Civic (street dreams)

Imo just buy another Y8 they are cheap and you will not need to rewire anything plug and play is better.
Old 06-03-2006, 09:13 PM
Tru

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

or rebuild the motor, then boost it.
Old 06-04-2006, 09:25 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: sohc ZC in 96 Civic (street dreams)