Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Short Ram air intake doesn't decrease MPG right?

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2011, 03:53 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Short Ram air intake doesn't decrease MPG right?

I can't get my dad to be quiet about the Intake I bought, he keeps saying it takes away power and decreases MPG.

I'm not a honda expert but is this true? I know I don't get any noticable gains, but does it take away power and give me bad mileage?
Old 02-03-2011, 04:42 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Short Ram air intake doesn't decrease MPG right?

Any air filter or intake that allows more cool air to entire the engine will have a positive effect in MPG. More air to flow, less gas to burn, therefore better MPG. Short rams tend to deliver more high end torque, where a full cold air intake delivers more low end torque. (If I'm not mistaken)
Old 02-03-2011, 04:47 PM
Honda-Tech Member

It just depends on the filter about HP and MPG and it also depends on the filter location. If the Intake pipe routes filter to a cool spot on the enginebay you get better power but not so sure about MPG if its a hot spot Vise versa
Old 02-03-2011, 04:50 PM
Honda-Tech Member

What ^ he said too. Nevertheless, aftermarket parts are typically better than factory. So... just install it and than tell him to listen. He'll understand.
Old 02-03-2011, 05:04 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

If he really wants proof just take your MPG now...

Install it in a semi-temp fashion...for example take out the box just don't take out the whole silencer assembly that goes by the bumper and whatnot...and take your MPG then...if it has no effect or positive results...tell old school it's all good.
Old 02-03-2011, 07:49 PM
Honda-Tech Member

hes wrong the intake helps your mpg and gives you more hp
Old 02-03-2011, 09:41 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts