Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Replacing coolant

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2008, 08:35 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing coolant

I searched on replacing the coolant and got some good info, still have a few questions though so any help would be appreciated. This is on a '99 Civic EX.

I am going to swap the coolant in my car, as the temperature gauge seems to be rising all the way up on long car rides and I have ruled out the fan.

Anyway, I've never done this before. I did search, and from what I gather, I take out the plug at the bottom of the radiator and let the fluid drain. After plugging this back in, do I have to drain the coolant from the engine by undoing the bolt/plug near the oil filter, or can I simply replace the coolant in the radiater, let the car run, and let the old coolant go into the radiator while the new fluid goes into the block. What is the ratio of coolant in each?

If not, and I drain the coolant from the block, I then refill the coolant in the radiator and run the car with the heat all the way up, and continue refilling the coolant as needed?

How do you go about bleeding the air out so the car does not overheat in the future?

Lastly, is there a specific coolant I need to use on my Honda or are they all the same? Thanks for the help.
Old 07-18-2008, 08:46 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Replacing coolant (KHowe)