Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Potential New Owner

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2014, 07:31 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Potential New Owner

Hey everyone, I'm looking to pick up a Civic in the next couple days to replace my WRX.

Why am I replacing my WRX that I love wholeheartedly? Because bills are catching up, rent is stupid expensive, and I have to start paying off my college loans

Before I begin with the noob questions, let me begin by saying that I'm new to Hondas, but not forum life. I know to search, I know how to search, but the Honda world is so new to me I hardly know where to begin and it's a tad overwhelming. Apparently 30k posts on BMW and Subaru forums dont do squat for learning about Honda powertrains!

There are two cars I'm looking at right now:

1) 1997 Civic that has 209k on the chassis, supposedly has 120k or so on the engine/trans. I know these cars have a B16 motor in it, and the seller is telling me is a Y8 head with Vtec. If that's the case, wouldn't it say "VTEC" on the engine? He would be throwing in $2k on top of his car for my 02 WRX with 213k. (the paint doesn't bother me, I would actually love to learn to paint and this would be the perfect opportunity)
The car in question:

Does that look like a Y8 head? How would I tell other than bringing it to a Honda smart indy shop?

2) The second car is a 2000 Civic SI, blue, with over 200k on the stock motor/trans. He would be adding $1k on top. I know Hondas are damn near bulletproof when maintained so I'm not too worried about the mileage.
Insight into which car you guys would prefer would be nice as would the reason for your decisions!

Old 04-28-2014, 08:29 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Potential New Owner