Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

New 00 Civic DX Hatch - questions about mods

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2013, 06:25 PM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New 00 Civic DX Hatch - questions about mods

Hello, I am sure everyone probably does this... I am new to Honda's. I recently purchased a 2000 Honda Civic DX Hatch Back. The car is not an SI or Type R, it has the D16y7 engine and is bone stock. I usually drive a Trans Am, but due to gas prices that's going to be more of a weekend driver. I bought the Honda due to how awesome the mileage was, and its upgrade possibilities.

1. Id like to do a few simple but descent modifications besides the traditional exhaust and cold air intake. What are some good ones and I'm on a low budget like most people now a days.

2. I was also wondering where the best place was to get parts and such.

3. The car is a 5 speed but does not have a tach, would any modification be needed to insert a cluster with a tach from another Civic of that generation?

4. I have intentions of possibly putting a rally light bar on the front by attaching it to the tow mounts in the front and the main support bar going across above the radiator. Has anyone else made one?
Old 01-06-2013, 06:50 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: New Car questions

Somebody will blast you for asking these things without "Searching", but I will give you some answers.

1. This is coming from experience, the D16y7 engine is a great engine for economical driving...that is about it without tearing into it, building it up and putting a turbo on it. So I would recommend leaving that alone.

If anything, suspension, brakes, and wheels may be better places to make improvements.

2. There are a lot of places to get parts....craigslist, classifieds, performance shops, internet. Some places to check out are passwordJDM, Vexmotorsports, and WekSos.
Majestic Honda (hondaautomotiveparts.com) is a great place to get OEM parts.