Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Low idle, smell of fuel, bad when mpgs.

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2011, 08:40 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Low idle, smell of fuel, bad when mpgs.

Hey everybody. Just bought myself a 95 civic with a rebuilt d16z6, this is my first Honda. I bought as a project to mess around with hence it is not my daily driver. I'm not an expert with hondas but am not dumb with mechanics. Again it's not my daily so no rush or urgency with the issues it has. Basically car drives fine, has plenty of power, shifts great. Issue it has is a very low idle roughly around 100-200rpms and misses also at idle. There is also a strong smell of fuel and my fuel economy is crap (ate a little over a quarter tank in 55 miles lol). I cleaned the IACV for starters and it did nothing. The distributor is dead center on its mount. Plugs and wires are a week old as well as the cap and rotor. Another thing is that it doesn't like cold starts, will a die a few times before it'll catch long enough for me to get it some gas. From my experience, and I could be wrong, is that in a cold start situation there is usually some kind of fast idle valve that will idle the engine high until it warms up and it will close it self while IACV takes control of the idle. If that's true then my fast idle valve is definatley not working. And I discovered earlier my engine light doesn't work lol so I don't have a good direction to start in except for replacing parts until its gone, hopefully. Anyway I was looking for some advice from someone who has had a similar problem or a Honda god that can crap knowledge. Thanks!
Old 08-24-2011, 08:45 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Low idle, smell of fuel, bad when mpgs.

1: replace the CEL(Check Engine Light) bulb and pull the codes. There is a good write up in the FAQ on how to do this.