Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

losing power 95 civic ex stock - sorry for the novel

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2007, 10:30 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default losing power 95 civic ex stock - sorry for the novel

Greetings:

I have a mostly stock 95 Civic EX that is losing power now and, before I begin, let me just say that I'm a car newbie who has been learning everything about working on a car with a friend and father over the last month or so. This Civic is my project.

I just finished replacing the engine about two weeks ago because I bought it blown from overheating. The new engine, on initial testing, ran great and felt fairly peppy for a stock sohc vtec zc

Now, after finally getting some time to drive it (my wife basically stole the car from me) it seems to be losing a TON of power randomly. The other day after getting onto the interstate I got up to about 60 and suddenly t would no longer accelerate and then started LOSING speed no matter what I did. I pull off, kill it, and inspect things under the hood and everything appears to be fine from what I can see at the time.. Then I start it back up and it drives fine the rest of the way home.

My wife took it out yesterday and it worked fine for a bit and then suddenly would not accelerate past 15MPH.. She stopped and went in a store for an hour or so came back out and it drove home just fine. It's been parked since that afternoon.

I was thinking possibly a collapsed/restricted muffler? I'll be pulling it into the garage this weekend to find out what the problem really is... However, if it IS the muffler, I am planning on getting a new cat-back soon anyways so I'll just go ahead and order one this weekend... What would everyone suggest for someone looking for something not really loud?