Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Knocking/tapping from front end?

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2010, 11:44 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Knocking/tapping from front end?

Ok im running on a built lsvtec and today I noticed a knocking/tapping sound coming from my frontend, and doing 60mph at 35k and trying to go any faster brings the knocking/tapping sound and just keeps doing it if I try to go any faster, also feels like the car has no power at all after 60mph. It also does this on every gear but when its on idle the engine sounds fine, idle fines, rpm stays normal everything normal. So I kept it at 60mph and thought maybe it was an loose axle drove it home and axle seems fine, checked my oil and noticed I was 2qrts short.
So now I refilled it and took it for a test drive and the knocking/tapping sound is still there.

I'm fairly new to building a engine since this car was purchased like this.

I am also worry since this is my only car that I use to go to work and do everything else.

I hear that it could be my rods, or my head might have bent valves and probably needs new valves.

I want to pinpoint this down so im not spending money to fix something that is not the problem.

Thanks Honda-tech!
Old 04-24-2010, 04:36 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Knocking/tapping from front end?

Well you need to tell us exactly where the noise is coming from, does it sound like the top of the engine or bottom? Because a rod will make a knocking noise but a valve will make a tapping sound.
Old 04-25-2010, 11:59 AM
Honda-Tech Member

I was listening to the engine while it was running and revved it a little and heard a loud knock sound and seems like its coming from my head. It happened too fast I couldnt really pinpoint exactly where it came from.
Old 04-25-2010, 10:30 PM
Honda-Tech Member

boom! sounds the exact same as mine before i found out it was blown!
this just gives you the need to go bigger and better!