Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Keep the Motor or Rebuild it???

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2008, 09:28 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Keep the Motor and Rebuild it, or buy new block????

ok. before people start going crazy about modifying the **** out of my motor or getting a B, H, or K series motor, im a student about to move to houston for U.T.I.

i just [freak] up my motor last week just befor going to visit family.

i was running down the hiway with a few of my buddies about to take pics of the cars. well sum impatiend ******* decided to throw on his brights and go onto the right hand sholder to pass me. so i stepped on it... afterwards i look at my temp and its sky high...

i blew a radiator hose and spewed coolant. blew a head gasket. but thats just the begining. my buddie pulled the motor apart while i was out of town and saw that the sleeves separated from the block. he said he can get it all fixed and running better for $550. (B/C of better compression.)

or should i just buy a rebuildt Z6 block for $350.

im so pissed b/c i had my car running 15.5's at the track wit a stock motor. just intake header and exaugst.

Old 08-13-2008, 09:47 AM

Default Re: Keep the Motor and Rebuild it, or buy new block???? (fryguy190)

i'm not sure what your friend means when he says "the sleeves are separated from the block" so maybe a picture if that could help

it would seem that there would be more damage to the bottom end of the motor if the sleeves blew so the sleeves should be ok assuming there are no scores on the walls

as for everything else...
check the cylinder walls for any scores, any damage to the pot of the pistons, and don't spend $500 or $350.
just get a headgasket, radiator, and call it a day.

Old 08-13-2008, 10:08 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Your friend does know that the sleeves aren't supposed to touch the block right? That space around them if for coolant to flow.