Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

I JUST Got a Honda Civic. Need some answers. Im a real Car Newbie! Please help me out!

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2005, 01:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default **I just got a Honda Civic. Need some answers. Im a real Car Newbie! Please help me out!**

Ok so I got a Honda Civic 1996 Coupe 2 Door.
I would like to add a whole Audio system to the car.

I currently live in canada, so I have to spend Canadian currency, incase that will help in your answers. I really prefer to buy Audio parts on Ebay but if there is a better place please Lead me in the right direction if you can.

So I came here, because well Its a Honda forum, and I guess it's the best place to get some answers. So my questions about an Audio System are:

My Friends said These are the things that I requrie:
-Speakers
-Subwoofer
-Mp3 Player (Deck)
-Amplifier

Please if you can explain why I need these things, what they are used for and if I really need each one of them. Also how much will this cost me and Where should I buy them?

I mean, Can I not just buy speakers and a Mp3 player for the car, and two subwoofers? What is this Amplifier thing? What is it used for?

Is there something else I would need to buy? Is that too much? I would just like the best possible audio Set up with a good price.

Please educate me if you can
Thanks for your time.

/Andy
Old 10-04-2005, 01:12 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: **I just got a Honda Civic. Need some answers. Im a real Car Newbie! Please help me out!** (****

you need the amplifier for power to the big woofers. The deck does not provide enough power, the amplifier gets it's power directly from the battery. Its attached to the battery by a really thick wire, with a big fuse on it, then it connects directly to the amp.