Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

how many of you changed your clutch ??

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2005, 09:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how many of you changed your clutch ??

long story short my clutch is on it's way out. iunderstand how to replace it but i've never done it before post up any tips you might have or personal experiences

my engine is just a d-series "hx" or "y5" so i'll be replacing the trans to an ex as well.

1st ? is will i need to pull the motor? i don't think so

2nd is how long will it take? should i plan a weekend or just a day? i'll have access to tools so i'm not to worried there

any help is appreciated
Old 05-04-2005, 09:06 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: how many of you changed your clutch ?? (shepworldwide)

no, you don't need to pull the motor.....it would be great if you had access to a lift, but it can be done in your drive way on jackstands. If you know what you're doing at all it should take longer then a day......I think I did my clutch in about 3 hours, that included running to honda for a new main seal and stuff.
Old 05-04-2005, 09:24 PM
Risky Business

Received 47 Likes on 39 Posts
Default Re: how many of you changed your clutch ?? (shiftgear8000)

From FAQ thread at the top:

https://honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=596873
https://honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=811691

And a more thorough one done on a B18C: http://www.c-speedracing.com/h...h.php

That explains taking off the trans, and then to replace the clutch you just loosen the bolts around the pressure plate...make sure to use an alignment tool when you put the new one on.

Good luck, i'd recommend getting a helms though
Old 05-04-2005, 09:29 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: how many of you changed your clutch ?? (BauleyCivic)

U dont have to pull the motor ! it is quite easy if u have all the tools and jack ! took me a good 3-4 hrs
Old 05-04-2005, 09:31 PM