Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Help on buying EG hatch!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2003, 02:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help on buying EG hatch!!!!

Hi, (yes this is my first post ) Im new to Hondas and I want to buy a Eg hatch, some guy is selling me one for 3K, I dont know what year it is but is an si with a D16Z6 and 110k miles. exterior and Interior look good but I dont know if mechanically its still holding up (since it has 110k miles). How many miles do civics usually last? and the engine? He said he did something to the piston rings recently and that he uses mineral 20-50wt oil. Is it a good buy (I dont live in USA and HB are pretty hard to come by) having so many miles? Will it give me a lot of trouble?

What maintnance should i do to it once I buy it? I wont have much cash after the buy but a good tuneup I can manage.

Thanks a lot and plz welcome me to HT without telling me to use the search j/k

Should I do a comp check to see if any cylinder is low? Whats the normal pressure for a Z6?

Is a D16A8 (DOHC NON VTEC) a good swap?

Modified by jetpilot at 4:44 PM 6/27/2003
Old 06-26-2003, 03:02 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Help on buying EG hatch!!!! (jetpilot)

what did he do to the piston rings?? the only thing you can do to them is replace them, tempering with the piston rings and putting old piston rings back in is just asking for truble. Sounds like something is wrong with the car, maybe it burns oil and that's why he is using such a heavy weight oil. I would be care full if I was you and don't buy it if you are not sure, unless you are planning to do a swap anyway then it sounds ok.
Old 06-26-2003, 03:13 PM

Default Re: Help on buying EG hatch!!!! (leadfoot78)