Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Got my ECU code, now what?

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2004, 03:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Got my ECU code, now what?

Hey everyone. I'm new to this forum so I don't know if this has been asked before but I searched and couldn't find any helpful information.

I recently bought an '02 Civic LX with 38,000 miles on it. The engine maint. light came on so I got it scanned at Autozone. Their OBDII scanner said code "P 1298 Fuel Air Metering". I looked at your code list in this forum and it said code P 1298 was "Electric Load Detector (ELD) Circuit High Voltage". Can anyone tell me which is the problem and how I can fix it? I've never worked on this car before but I would like to fix the problem myself if possible.

A little background on myself, I'm an experienced mechanic... My other vehicle is a 90 Jeep Cherokee w/ 5" of lift, 32" mud tires, rear locker, 4.0L engine stroked to 4.6L w/ lots of other goodies.

Thanks in advance for any help you guys can offer.
Old 05-05-2004, 04:39 AM

Default Re: Got my ECU code, now what? (Jam Master Jay)

Surely someone has had this trouble code before? Any help at all is greatly appreciated.
Old 05-05-2004, 04:42 AM

http://autorepair.about.com/li...b.htm

Jam Master sorry it took so long to get an answer. I wasn't watching.
Actually I cam across your post in search for my own asnwers.

Hope that it helps.
Scott
Old 05-05-2004, 05:16 AM

Default Re: Got my ECU code, now what? (CRneXt)

Thanks very much Scott, that's really helpful. Now I just have to do a little diagnosis.
Old 05-05-2004, 05:49 AM
Former Moderator

Received 54 Likes on 29 Posts

How many miles does this car have?

I'm going to look your code up on my All-Data computer program and see what's up.
Old 05-05-2004, 06:02 AM
Former Moderator

Received 54 Likes on 29 Posts

Okay I just looked up the diag flow chart for this code, and it's pretty damn involved.