Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Ensuring top-notch fuel economy...

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2010, 08:19 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ensuring top-notch fuel economy...

Hi all,

I don't know if there has been a question about this before, but I have a 96 Civic EX Sedan and I was getting around 35 MPG combined. Seems after this winter, the MPGs aren't the same.

Now, I was wondering what you could do to keep fuel economy really good, whether it means doing simple maintenance things, or perhaps doing some bolt-on mods.

From some friends, I heard that Seafoam-ing the engine is a good idea. Also, an air intake of sorts is apparently good. Perhaps there is something to do with the body to keep good fuel economy?

This just was a question I kept asking myself, so I was wondering what you guys do to keep good fuel economy.

I'm not too good with all the technical junk, so newbie language please.

Thanks in advance.
Old 03-31-2010, 09:57 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Ensuring top-notch fuel economy...

I'm not expert, but a simple tune up should keep a good fuel economy on your car. Changing air filter, motor oil, fuel filter, spark plugs...things like that. I don't know what else you could do. Anybody else care to jump in...?
Old 03-31-2010, 10:08 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Oil changes are done regularly as well as air filter cleanings or replacements. Last time we checked spark plugs, they were really good condition and my dad will never swap them out for nicer iridium ones, unless I do it myself. I don't think the fuel filter has been changed yet. What exactly do they do and when should they be replaced?
Old 03-31-2010, 10:12 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

not only should you be replacing maintenance parts (you forgot the pcv valve, alot do)

if you dont know or havent recently done:

compression tests
leakdown tests
fuel pressure tests
wheel alignments
tire pressure