Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Engine Build Questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2009, 09:20 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine Build Questions

Sup... new... who cares?
Ok. So like most folks I am stuck with this D block in my car. I currently have just a few more parts before I complete my turbo set up, but I decided to get a B series. My questions are...
What would be the difference between a GSR and an ITR motor after doing internal mods? If you're going to change out most of the internals and do pnp and such shouldn't the power output be the same? Im no expert or dont act like I know something, but to me... it looks like it would right? After a good tune aswell on S300.
Old 04-02-2009, 11:09 AM

Default Re: Engine Build Questions

search.

don't mean to be rude or anything.. but there are literally TONS of threads out there with gsr/itr comparisons.
Old 04-04-2009, 03:02 PM

No worries on being rude... I really dont mind. Nah man... I have been searching. I've just come across some BS answers. Im just curious if you're going to do the same stuff to both motors if the outcome would be the same. Everyone and their Mom says TypeR then I would see a stupid B20 build respond. Im just making sure Im going to spend my money wisely. If you could... would you hook me up with a link that has a good DD build? Thanks
Old 04-04-2009, 03:22 PM
Honda-Tech Member

If you're thinking about buying an ITR or GSR motor...save your money and LS/VTEC. More power, more reliable if you ask me.

However if you must get an ITR or GSR..as far as I know the GSR shares quite a bit of parts with the ITR motor. I think I saw somewhere that the exhaust cam is the same as well as some other things.

I will say, W00T For ITR for having partial factory sleeving :D

btw..PM me what D turbo parts you got..
Old 04-04-2009, 04:23 PM
New User

Thought about the CTR motor?
Old 04-04-2009, 04:28 PM
New User

just go for a h22 you will love it