Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

engien swap / is it a good deal ?

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2005, 08:22 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default engien swap / is it a good deal ?

so im located down in houston and my car's engine went out during the hurricane evacuation crap so now im getting a swap, im not too good with the engine i can do little things but i dont trust myself to do the entire swap just yet im only 17. my dad talked to a shop called cornerstone automotive and he said he will swap the engine and transmission for 3000 (including labor) . im going to go talk to him this week and the engine he gets is from a junkyard but then he rebuilds it and installs. should i tell him no less than a bseries engine for that much money ? or what , i had a D15B8 the reason it blew was a compression issue and it overheated then there was rust in the cylinders when i took it off and the head had a .125 warpage, crazy right. but i think that for 3000 i should be able to get a B16 from him becase Hmotorsonline has a complete swap for 2250 and 750 is more that enough for labor i think. let me know what you all think. thanks.
Old 10-30-2005, 08:51 AM

Default Re: engien swap / is it a good deal ? (vandersmissenc)

If you do it yourself you could have a b18c for that price, its really not very difficult once you have everything you need. But dont pay some mechanic 3000$ to put another d-series in your car.
Old 10-30-2005, 08:59 AM
Honda-Tech Member

I got my d16 swapped with the cost of the motor for 800$, now its a turbo d16
Old 10-30-2005, 09:01 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Re: (VTcivicHB)

For 3 grand and some change just make it a B series.
Old 10-30-2005, 09:35 AM
.Ry
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: engien swap / is it a good deal ? (carjacker006)