Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Difference in engines?

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2003, 12:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Difference in engines?

I'm a noob to this site as well as to civic's. I have a 98 civic ex (fiance's car). I looked up the engine and it said it was 1.6L L4 PFI VTEC 16V engine. I have noticed that there are different types of honda engines. Where does mine fall in the order of taking well to mods? I'm basically looking for some good bolt on or slight custom mods for her car. Already put a WAI, OBX Headers, upper front & lower rear OBX strut bars. Next is to finish the exhaust but after that...????
Thanks in advance for the help.
Old 09-25-2003, 12:56 PM

Default Re: Difference in engines? (boricuacivic357)

N-O-S
in reality forced induction is the way to go IMO. i have 00 stock block ex with a jackson charger and some nitrous. a lot of people are going to tell you to turbo. in all honesty this is what i would do. turbo it, then down the road if you want to swap the motor, you can throw the turbo on the new motor with just a few mod's. (like a new turbo exhaust manifold being the biggest)
Old 09-25-2003, 01:17 PM

automatic will (should) waay limit your choices...
Old 09-25-2003, 01:45 PM

Default Re: Difference in engines? (mathusala)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by mathusala &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">automatic will (should) waay limit your choices...</TD></TR></TABLE>
Your telling me. My finace doesn't know how to drive stick and doesn't want to learn. I told her we could make her car the audio car and make mine the fast one, but she didn't like that answer. I've explained the whole auto vs manual issue.
Old 09-25-2003, 08:48 PM

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by boricuacivic357 &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">