Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

The difference between Short ram and Cold air

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2009, 11:24 AM
New User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The difference between Short ram and Cold air

What is the difference between short ram and cold air intake?
Which is better?
Which do you perfer?
What brand do you perfer?

Im running this on a d16z6 bone stock.

i was thinking of Red Aem cold air intake with K&N filter.

This is probably a dumb question but im a noob still trying to figure out how to work this. Any advice would be awesome.

Thanks
delsoldude30
-Frank-
Old 07-07-2009, 11:28 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: The difference between Short ram and Cold air

short ram is going to stay in the engine bay, where as cold air is going to drop down into the fender well/behind the bumper area. dont waste your money on something fancy from aem, its not necessary. it's just a pipe and a filter. there are times to purchase name brand things, but this isn't one of them.
Old 07-07-2009, 11:49 AM
Honda-Tech Member

+1 Stock airbox and K&N drop in. Looks better too.
Old 07-07-2009, 12:04 PM

I agree with the previous posts, to add to that it is dangerous to get a cold air intake, because of its location, during a decent rain it is very easy for water to splash into the intake and hydrolock your engine.
Old 07-07-2009, 12:08 PM
I'm not Rick!

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

suck hot air or suck water
pick one
Old 07-07-2009, 12:19 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 615 Likes on 487 Posts

Originally Posted by D16SiHatch
short ram is going to stay in the engine bay, where as cold air is going to drop down into the fender well/behind the bumper area. dont waste your money on something fancy from aem, its not necessary. it's just a pipe and a filter. there are times to purchase name brand things, but this isn't one of them.