Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Del Sol new engine advice

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2011, 03:06 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Del Sol new engine advice

Ok so i bought a 95 del sol b16 1.6L dohc vtec no more then 2 months ago. this has got to be the 4th problem i have encountered, and the worst problem.

Im a big noob with cars so please make it simple for me to understand and my explanation would be lacking, just a heads up.

So my car has problems and it turns out i need a new block for my car. I didnt really understand what was wrong with it but basicly the mechanic who is my sister's boyfriend told me i need a new engine etc. one of the worst news ive heard.

so this means i need to decide on what engine i should get for my car and this is what i need help on.

I did a lot of research but i still need help deciding what to get.

Can someone please help me list my options preferebly my best options in numerical order if possible. Any help would be really apprecialted.

So my question is, which is my best option choices in picking out a engine and tranny, in regards of my criteria?

This is my criteria:
1. Needs to be fast like my b16 (preferably faster with more torque)
2. Cant be too expensive. (im not sure what my budget is yet but i prefere getting an engine that will be the best value. so base my budge on best value.

3. Good/great gas milage at least 25! the more then better! i want 30 with great power if possible! no less then 20, 24 is do able, 23 is borderline
4. i would like it faster then my b16. more acceleration etc.

5. vtec
6. Good handling or atleast not shitty handling.