Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

D16Z6 misfires, struggles to catch idle after throttle-cash reward for help

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2012, 02:25 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon5 D16Z6 misfires, struggles to catch idle after throttle-cash reward for help

Hello I have been rebuilding my eg6 for two years, one donor car later I thought I was done but I have had ongoing idle issues ever since the D16 Z6 motor got dropped into the car. I understand these things are very hard to diagnose without contact with the car but fresh brain thinking about the problem from a different perspective.

*regarding the engine:

New Crank Bearings
New Piston Bearings
New Piston Rings
New Valve Stem Seals
New Thrust Bearing
New Idle Control Valve
Valves Ported and Polished
Piston Chambers Honed
Crankshaft Polished
New Spark Plugs
All New Gaskets
New o2 Sensor
AEM fuel pressure regulator
Half Weight Race Flywheel
Stage 3 Clutch

*regarding the PROBLEM.

Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_gj_A...ature=youtu.be

Over fueling heavily smells ripe at the back
Misfires
Struggles to catch idle after throttle

This happens in both fast idle and regular idle although when it has warmed up it does get worse.

When accelerating it works well

*regarding the solution

Compression tested and was all good
No suspected Vacuum leaks
No check engine light

*regarding the cash reward

If someone happens to hit the nail on the head I would be happy to PayPal a small reward in the area of £20/$25 as a token of appreciation
Old 03-13-2012, 02:34 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: NEED HELP cash reward if anyone can cure my baby?

u may not be throwing any codes but did you check your throttle position sensor .. and/or your idle set screw in ur throttle body .. and also your bottom end may need timed with a light if that has not already been done
Old 03-13-2012, 02:35 PM
Honda-Tech Member

My best guess? Faulty fuel pressure regulator.