Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

D16Y7 Questions... im new to honda's and need help !!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2011, 04:23 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 D16Y7 Questions... im new to honda's and need help !!!

i have a question for you all... i relize a bunch of you would say search this but i would rather ask you guys..... i mean i know a lot about cars cause i just sold my 88 toyota supra and learned and worked on it and even went to school and worked in a shop...........but i know nothing about honda engines.

i currently got a 97 2dr hatchback but How much can the stock D16 engine handle??? for performance.. i want to bring it up too 200 hp. is that even a good idea?

Please help!!! thanks
Old 03-01-2011, 05:48 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: D16Y7 Questions... im new to honda's and need help !!!

It could handle probably between 200-225hp if it's in relatively good shape. The only way you will get that type of power without sacrificing your left nut is to boost it. If you decide to do this, at least swap out the intake manifold for the y8 model design. It is much better than the pos downdraft IM on the y7. Then put together a modest turbo setup and get a good tune.
Old 03-01-2011, 10:59 PM
Honda-Tech Member

ita a honda engine... you could make it 1000 WHP!
Old 03-02-2011, 06:56 AM
Honda-Tech Member

lol nah more like 6000 HP!!!!!! lol just slapping stickers on the bumper lol

the engine is in great condition, lots of miles, but in great condition

i mean i just had plans to chip it. catback exauhst, intake, headers and a high flow air filter. just for now . but like i said i dont want the engine to blow lol
Old 03-02-2011, 07:00 AM
The Grumpiest

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

Originally Posted by JDMJunkie08
lol nah more like 6000 HP!!!!!! lol just slapping stickers on the bumper lol

the engine is in great condition, lots of miles, but in great condition