Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

D15Z1 short block with Y8 head ?

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2006, 03:41 PM
tdo
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default D15Z1 short block with Y8 head ?

hey im new to SOHC motors and wanted to know if i can put a Y8 head onto a D15Z1 block.

i searched but couldnt find my answers.

i ask because i have a D15Z1 block and a friend of mines has a Y8 head he'll sell to me.

i dont really care for performance because im building a LS motor on the side, im just concerned about reliabilty issues. Will this last a while?

sorry for so many questions but i dont really work with SOHC motors much.
Old 06-29-2006, 03:43 PM

Default Re: D15Z1 short block with Y8 head ? (tdo)

https://honda-tech.com/zerothread/1670633

talk to bense
Old 06-29-2006, 04:03 PM
tdo
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: D15Z1 short block with Y8 head ? (knockout)

thnx, i also searched some more and found this another thread on it also.

just wanna know what i gotta uses for it.

Y8 head gasket and what else?

how about timing belt?
Old 06-29-2006, 04:07 PM

i dont have experience with mini-me's, i think its y8 timing belt, but i'd check around first.
Old 06-29-2006, 04:10 PM

ive done a b7/z6 mini.
i blieve you will want y8 belt and head studs or bolts
Old 06-29-2006, 04:11 PM
tdo
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: D15Z1 short block with Y8 head ? (knockout)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by knockout &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">i dont have experience with mini-me's, i think its y8 timing belt, but i'd check around first.</TD></TR></TABLE>

im checking around right now. seems like this setup isnt great for performance (but i can care less its a DD) because of the compression when you put a y8 head on.

im just concerned with what belt to uses.

i got the TB, IM, Head, y8 head gasket, not sure on the belt still.
Old 06-29-2006, 04:13 PM
tdo