Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

cx civic a/c

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2009, 12:53 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default cx civic a/c

i want to put a/c in my cx civic and need someone to tell me EVERYTHING I need.
do i need to change the wire harness ?

thanks
Old 07-30-2009, 01:48 PM

Default Re: cx civic a/c

well you will need to get a hold of like an ex not engine harness but an accesory harness i think is what you call it it will have plugs for your a/c condensor and compressor you need all the hard lines, a compressor with a mount that mounts to the engine block, a condensor and you may need a different heater core im not to sure whats under the dash because i have always had a/c in my car but thats some of the stuff you need
Old 07-30-2009, 02:05 PM
Honda-Tech Member

I will look under the dash. I'm not new to honda's but I'm new to putting a/c into the cx lol. i know the main things i need. also my harness has plugs that arn't connected to anything so I;m thinking its for the a/c. and it already has the bracket on the block. i will post up pictures of what i have but i would like someone to make a list of what i need so i can just start searching for the stuff.thanks.
Old 07-30-2009, 02:16 PM

take a picture of the firewall to see if there are any fittings that you can connect your hard lines to, i just put a/c back into my car because i ripped it out like 3 years ago and finally put it back in, i know about the a/c in these things what year is the civic? you might need a conversion kit becasue they do not make r-12 frion anymore so you would need a kit that converts to r-134a which you get get from like a shucks/oreilly/checkers
or napa whatever parts store you have near you
Old 07-30-2009, 03:42 PM
Honda-Tech Member

its a 94 civic hatch. there is nothing under the battery.that's where the lines go to.(or under dash). i also don't have the a/c button on my dash board.so do i get a new one ?