Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Code 14... searched.... NEED HELPFUL INFO!!!!!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2005, 12:02 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Code 14... searched.... NEED HELPFUL INFO!!!!!!!!!

Sooo... here's my story...

I've been throwing a code 14 for a long while... and when i drive it, the idle goes back n forth from 800rpm-1600rpm... during that time period, i can still drive my car fine.. it's just annoying as hell listening to it. Then once the engine starts getting warmer (prolly 5-10 minutes into driving it)... the rpm's go back and forth from 1500rpm-1600rpm.. and it becomes VERY difficult to drive. I've been driving with it like this for about 8 months now.. and finally i decided to do something about it cuz it was just getting harder and harder to drive.. to the point where i couldn't even do 1st OR 2nd gear.
SO.. I take off the iacv and the thing seemed to be rusted shut/open? one of the 2. (water had gotten into it a long time ago.. and i never acted upon it..) so i went and just bought a whole new throttle body cuz i found one that was about $70 cheaper then buying the iacv itself. I put that on.. and same old ****.
My question is... that I know there are things that could cause the code to be set off, and i'm wondering if anyone knows specific things i should be looking at. I know cracked hoses could be one reason... any thing else??

HELP WOULD BE SO APPRECIATED HERE!!!!!!!!! I'm about to go insane with this damn car!!

Thanks,
Sheena.
Old 07-23-2005, 12:16 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Code 14... searched.... NEED HELPFUL INFO!!!!!!!!! (pink hatchy)

did u tried cleaning the iacv? reset ur ecu. unplug the ecu and plug it back up.
Old 07-23-2005, 12:26 AM

Default Re: Code 14... searched.... NEED HELPFUL INFO!!!!!!!!! (Ignitecivic)

IT'S BRAND NEW..

AND I RESET THE ECU N ALL THAT TOO..

Old 07-23-2005, 03:13 AM