Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

CEL (1999 Civic EX Coupe Manual)

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2004, 03:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CEL (1999 Civic EX Coupe Manual)

I am a member of HAN, but I thought that you all might be able to help me out too since I haven't gotten an exact response from anyone over there on this problem.

Westcoast and I have been battling a problem for about 2 months that you all maybe to help me with. I asked before, but I want to poll you all one more time to see if I can get a better result.

I am battling an O2 Sensor problem, but it isn't the O2 Sensor, already checked that.... So today we took the ECU out of a 99 Civic EX (Just like mine, made 14 days before), and put it into my car. It threw a code, but this time it was a 1 instead of a 41 (1 is O2A - Oxygen sensor #1, 41 is Primary oxygen sensor heater).

So my question is this. Why would two identical ECU's throw two different codes, and is this telling me anything that is not blaringly obvious to me or Westcoast?

Now at least I know that the ECU is not bad, which is a sigh of relief, but could a dirty intake manifold, CAI, or header cause this? I have had an aftermarket CAI and Header on this car for about 50k before this code came up, and since I am putting on a turbo in a couple of weeks, I don't want to be running really, really rich. I am thinking it is something dirty or the wiring harness, and I really don't want to have to pull the wiring harness.....

If anyone has any ideas let me know.
Old 04-23-2004, 04:56 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: CEL (swaggs21)

With a multi-meter you can check the heater resistance (15-40ohms) and also check for shorts and opens in your wiring. If your resistance measurements check out, then your probably looking a new O2. How many miles are on this O2?
Old 04-23-2004, 11:52 AM

Default Re: CEL (EE_Chris)

There are about 4k miles on this O2.