Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Barely failed smog, need help please

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2011, 10:14 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Barely failed smog, need help please

I am purchasing a 1009 honda civic ex 2 dr coupe 5 spd manual from friend. It has 154,952 & failed smog yesterday. First of all I'm new to this & I'm a woman so please excuse my ignorance. I'm slightly mechanically inclined.

My HC (PPM) readings were as follows:
test rpm max ave meas
15 mph 1879 92 50 102 (fail)
25 mph 2003 57 30 57

the tech told me it probably needs the plugs, wires & caps replaced. According to my friend that was just done but my friend is going to check with the mechanic he took it to. My first thought because its so close was to put some Berrymans Emission Pass. Oh I also only drove it for about 15 minutes then parked & waited 45 min for the test. Any help is much appreciated!!!
Old 03-17-2011, 12:09 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Barely failed smog, need help please

put 91 octane in the fuel tank before your next test, and leave the car running while you wait.
Old 03-17-2011, 03:26 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by virgineg6
put 91 octane in the fuel tank before your next test, and leave the car running while you wait.
if the motor is stock 91 will only make it worse (it burns slower) ethanol is acutally beter as it is an oxidizer . how where the other readings ?? if they only check for HC you could advance the timing some (this will increase Nox) i have never seen plugs and wires make much of a differance unless the engine had a dead miss its proably your 02 sensor or you cat is bad. i didn't know they made 1009 civics
Old 03-18-2011, 11:19 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Can you post up a picture of the inspection report? Or at least post up the all the gas readings. Then I can get a better idea of what might be going on. Just the HC reading doesn't tell me anything.