Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Any ways to make a Civic safer??

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2009, 08:25 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any ways to make a Civic safer??

I am about to buy my first civic soon, im looking for years 1996-2000. Anyways I am about to start college soon and I need something cheaper on gas to drive me about 70 miles a day. My 91' S-10 Blazer with a 327 isn't going to cut it.

I plan on keeping the car fairly stock, and when I get more $$$ hopefully a b16 or b18 swap N/A. Just something mild around 180 to 200hp at the motor.

My main worry is saftey. I know I am a safe driver, I don't race on the streets or nothing, but there are a lot of stupid people on the road and I don't want to get hit in something not safe.

Are there any ways to make a civic safer?? I mean a full cage is out of the question because there is no way in hell im going to drive everyday with a helmet, but what about a 4 point cage? Anything else to make the front end less prone to folding up like a soda can in a crash? Basicaly anything to make these cars safer for every day driving??
Old 05-18-2009, 08:46 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Any ways to make a Civic safer??

so you want your car to be like an armored car?

i dont want to sound like a douche, but accidents happen and it all depends on how you drive.

i myself drive safely everyday. the problem is the driver beside you on the street or freeway, you can never tell if he/she is driving safely.

if you want, reinforce the chassis of your car, that's the only way i can think of.
Old 05-18-2009, 08:54 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by eros18
so you want your car to be like an armored car?

i dont want to sound like a douche, but accidents happen and it all depends on how you drive.

i myself drive safely everyday. the problem is the driver beside you on the street or freeway, you can never tell if he/she is driving safely.