Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

98 Civic Engine Swap Help - Tranny and Engine have to be AUTOMATIC

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2014, 10:29 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 98 Civic Engine Swap Help - Tranny and Engine have to be AUTOMATIC

Its time to swap out my tranny and engine.
I have a stock d16y7 in my 98 honda civic dx hatch, engine has about had it, reaching about 200,000 miles.
I'm looking to do a swap, don't know what to put in it.
Looking for better hp.
Tranny and Engine have to be AUTOMATIC.
I've heard b18 is a good engine to put swap
What are some ideas?
Old 12-27-2014, 11:13 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default re: 98 Civic Engine Swap Help - Tranny and Engine have to be AUTOMATIC

Your question has soooo many answers and if I was u I'd search the net for what motor setup suits your needs cuz these guys are gonna come in here flaming
Old 12-27-2014, 11:31 PM
Honda-Tech Member

I'm just new to the Honda swap game. Just needing some pointers from people who know what to do. I've been looking on the internet, for engine swap info too
Old 12-27-2014, 11:37 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Good luck buddy, I advocate built d-series so swaps aren't something I know too much about or I'd be more than willing to help.
Old 12-28-2014, 02:55 AM
The Grumpiest

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

You're not getting a B-series automatic into one of these.
Old 12-28-2014, 06:50 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Your options are basically a D16 AKA D16Z6 (ODB1), D16y7 or D16y8 (OBDII) or a D15 (OBD1) if you wish to retain the slushbox. Most people seeking power go manual.
Old 12-28-2014, 08:49 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by angrysmileyface
Your options are basically a D16 AKA D16Z6 (ODB1), D16y7 or D16y8 (OBDII) or a D15 (OBD1) if you wish to retain the slushbox. Most people seeking power go manual.