Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

96 Civic EX - Puttering with no power until higher RPM's

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2016, 04:44 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 96 Civic EX - Puttering with no power until higher RPM's

I'm new to Honda-Tech, but not new to Hondas.

My 96 Civic Ex, D16Y8, 5spd..ended up with BAD gas last yr and started sputtering almost immediately. As soon as i could (within a wk), i got busy on a full tune-up. What came out of my fuel filter and lines PISSED ME OFF!! I collected what came out in a glass jar, when it settled, i had an inch and a half of junked up water with an inch of fuel on top.

Now, i LOVE my Honda, so i went into "Flush and Pamper" mode. Every 2000mi i replaced fuel filter, cleaned plugs, changed oil and filter, cleaned sensors and wiring (I do a lot of dirt-roading), cleaned throttle body, checked fuses, and gave everything else a once-over.

The sputter would be better for a while, then return. After 6mos or so, the sputter became a major cough. I put in a bigger air intake hoping she'd breathe better. The cough became a stall. In low rpm (1800-2200), if i tried to accel it would choke, loose all power, and rpm would just bounce from 500 to 1500 or so. If i could get enough fuel to her to get through it, she'd run fine again. That is until i needed to shift and rpms dropped close to 2000. The choking would resume.

It only got worse with time. Anytime i would hit the clutch, the rpm would drop right past the idle point and she would just choke out and stall. I knew that i had reached the limit of my knowledge and had her towed to my "Honda Guy". I trust him for all the big stuff i'm too chicken to do w/o someone around to show me how (ya know, bein a chic and all).. After 2wks with her mechanic (30+yrs of pure Honda/Asian auto know-how), he got her running better but with an occasional sputter that reminds me of how she started this whole mess last year.