Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

95 EX burning oil and rough cold idle

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2012, 07:08 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon6 95 EX burning oil and rough cold idle

Ive searched and searched on this but not really sure what to even search exactly for as Im a noob to the honda scene. So heres my exact problem(s).... When I start my car in the morning it idles fine till the choke turns off and then it idles down to about 150-300 rpms id guess (needle is barly above spot when engine is off on cluster). Ill drive to work 30 min and then me car will sit and idle no problem just under 1000 rpm but if i turn my lights, heater, ect. on the idle will drop a couple 100 rpms??? I assume this part is that the alternator is going bad? But still unsure on the rough idle when cold. FYI im in WI where it has been in the 20's & 30's. My next question is my car is burning some major oil!! Every tank of gas I have to add a little over 1/2 quart of oil. Also my rear bumper above my exhaust is covered in oil!! (my car is white so very noticable lol) I very much appreciate the help and getting pointed in the right direction on getting these problems fixed. Thanks alot in advance guys!!!!
Old 01-29-2012, 07:29 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: 95 EX burning oil and rough cold idle

With the idle thing, two things. 1) when was the last time you did a full tune-up on the car?, 2) when the car is ideling, and you turn your lights and everything else on, you are making the alternator work harder to power everything you want on. One way to tell if you alternator is dead is if the battey illuminates on your dash. And a way to tell if it`s gone, is if at night, you turn your lights on and everything dims for a second. Also have the battery tested.