Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

94 civic with AUTO trans - Any way to change what RPM the trans shifts at?

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2011, 11:51 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 94 civic with AUTO trans - Any way to change what RPM the trans shifts at?

Hi all, im new to both this forum and Honda's and have been bitten by the bug...

out of curiosity, i am only legal to drive cars with an auto transmission and have just bought my first 1994 honda civic civic with a D15B7 engine and AUTO trans. is there any way of changing what RPM the trans shifts at?

I was also reading up on Bauleycivic's mini me swap from the D15B7 head to the D16Z6 and it says you need the P28 ECU. now i understand this would probably be a pointless swap with the auto trans but thats not what im going to ask and as i said this is curiosity... is the trans controlled by the ECU? i.e. if this swap was done on the D15B7 would this affect the auto transmission?
Old 08-24-2011, 12:35 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Noob curiosity

I did a tiny bit of research for you buy searching on google.com. You should try it yourself, you would be surprised at what you find by doing a simple search.

As most know there is an automatic and a manual version to every ECU for Honda cars, at least as far as I know. If you were to do a z6 head swap or a "mini-me" swap onto your car you would need to get a P28 ECU that was meant for the automatic d16z6. Which I seem to find a lot of and they are a lot cheaper to be had than the manual ECU's which seem to be so popular.

So when/if you ever do a mini-me swap onto your b7 you will need the auto p28 or else the car simply will not run. Or if you use your auto P06 that you have now the engine will run, the trans will shift. But it will not run the way it should, and VTEC will not engage.