Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

93 civic startup problem...need advice

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2004, 01:35 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 93 civic startup problem...need advice

My friend got a 93 civic ex that doesn't start up anymore. Here is what happened exactly as he described it:

He insert the car key, turned it and the car starts, but unlike other ignition port, his key doesn't turn back. Then he heard a screeching sound and his battery wire burned out.

Sorry I'm pretty new to ignitions, but I hope this help describe what happened. Anybody have ideas on what broke or went wrong? I think it's either the battery or the ignition...but i may be wrong.

EDIT: My friend replaced the battery wire and tried turning the ignition key, but nothing happened.
Old 01-21-2004, 01:39 PM

Default Re: 93 civic startup problem...need advice (handa)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by handa &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">My friend got a 93 civic ex that doesn't start up anymore.

He insert the car key, turned it and the car starts</TD></TR></TABLE>

meh?
Old 01-21-2004, 01:46 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: 93 civic startup problem...need advice (handa)

so it started and then kept trying to turnover...? and then it died? sounds like something was overloaded...........
Old 01-21-2004, 01:47 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: 93 civic startup problem...need advice (moondoggy)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by moondoggy &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">

meh?</TD></TR></TABLE>

this is the kind of picture that U have to step back and take the thing as a whole lol
well man, I hate the electical parts of a car,I say get a trusted mech on ur baby
Old 01-21-2004, 01:55 PM

Default Re: 93 civic startup problem...need advice (EvilPinkEye)